Skip to content

Weekend-ulgence 1

July 3, 2010

Yes, it was Darshit’s idea to just go and relax and indulge and enjoy this weekend. We both had hectic weeks for a long longΒ time now and I was ready for any kind of break. BUT when he told “Yercaud”, I didn’t give a welcoming nod to his suggestion! I thought….. paused….and then again thought spending money to visit the same place again?? “NO!”, I replied.

But he somehow convinced me.. thats not a tough thing anyways πŸ™‚ And I was just happy to get off my office work! Yercaud is 3.5 to 4 hours drive from Bangalore. We planned to leave on Friday morning and return Sunday evening. As per Darshit’s plan, we would go to the best hotel in Yercaud, travel least, no sight seeing but just relax, rejuvenate and refresh self. I mean… I never had such trip to any place. (just relax????!!!!).

I got up Friday morning and with blurred vision saw clock striking 7! I mean.. we were supposed to leave at 7, didn’t we? I asked Darshit who was still lying like a statue next to me! I shook him up…. he moved a bit! I shouted.. its 7!!! He jumped out of bed. We were yet to pack our stuffs πŸ˜€ I started groping for bag and my clothes. But wait…. where is Darshit??? Oh god.. where is he??

I go to the next room to find him ransacking all his jholas (bags). “What are you searching for??”, I asked. “Searching for a good music CD.”, He replied with that childlike look. I didnt say a thing. I knew he knows it best. I got back and packed everything.

We left at 8:30 A.M. Not bad πŸ™‚ Yes worse 😦 Its the start of peak rush hour… we had to fill the tank, check air pressure but first find a petrol bunk on our way. Grrrrrr……!! Why the hell, we got late?? I looked at Darshit. He pulled the CD case and gave it to me. “Relax, we are here to enjoy this weekend.” He replied and asked me to check the music CDs (which he found after emptying 10 bags all over my bed!!). I opened a CD case and jumped on my seat!! “Thup!” fell a bottle from behind, may be it also jumped in excitement. The CD case had one of those CDs which I had written almost 4 years back just before our marriage πŸ™‚ And the first song started “Aur Ahista kijiye baatein……” yuhuuuuuuuu I was on a roll πŸ™‚

I still wonder.. but that day, we didnt face much traffic and reached NH7 highway on time. Driving on roads to Yercaud is a sheer pleasure. The roads are of international standards and like a proud Indian… I clicked plenty of photos.

Β 

Β 

“Gori teri aankhein kahen..” started with resounding music and added its magical effect to our drive. After completing two hours on road, it was now my turn to take over the stearing wheel. Darshit was almost dozzing! (after all, he got up sooo early in the morning :P). “Dil ne tum ko chun liya hai….” and I started driving.

I should correct my statement here. The roads are not of international standards but you can find such roads only in our India. Wow! There were some amazing flowers on the dividers.Β  Pink, yellow, white, orange flowers…… touching my car as it past by them πŸ™‚

“Tune o rangeele kaisa jadu kiya…..” and I was completely lost.Β  Wide roads,Β villages and mountains on the sides, flowers in the middle, songs of our choice and I felt dreamlike.Β  And I really started dreaming.. what if Darshit plucks one of this flower and offers me… I smiled and looked on the side. He was fast asleep!!!!!!!!Β I frowned and grumbled. I no longer liked those flowers touching my car.. I stopped music. I stopped dreaming. His head fell on my shoulder… he was still asleep. I smiled. I no longer wanted that flower πŸ™‚

PS: Part 2 once I come back to Bangalore πŸ™‚

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 9:45 pm

    Absoluetely louuurvvvvveee such vacations – no itinerary , nothing. Plain relaaaax maadi types – Darshit’s plan’s going to do wonders to relax your energetic self πŸ™‚

    Btw, am puffing like a toad at the mention of NH7!! πŸ˜› Arent the roads abs LOVELY?!! I grew up in Hosur and get on an high everytime I go back and drive on those roads. Next time I am in India, I shall take you and Darshit on a guided tour to some awesome hills, picnic in fields etc round NH7. Its a date!!! πŸ™‚

  2. July 4, 2010 2:47 am

    I like the quick planning.. and am amazed at how nice its turned out.. The roads looks awesome.. no wonder you were clicking so many pics..

  3. Swaram permalink
    July 4, 2010 3:36 am

    Oh I luvv such vacations πŸ™‚
    Yay to the proud Indian πŸ™‚

  4. netra permalink
    July 4, 2010 6:35 am

    wow…. thats beautiful! πŸ™‚

  5. July 4, 2010 9:21 am

    have fun chilling!!

  6. July 4, 2010 12:58 pm

    I think any vacation not planned seriously,actually turns out to be fun.

  7. July 5, 2010 12:41 am

    Ayyo how can you say NO to Yercaud???? 😯 😯 more 😯 For 16 years, I went to Yercaud every summer from riding in a car bound by strong arms as a baby to driving all the way up on my Kinetic Honda πŸ˜› It was my little piece of heaven πŸ˜₯ I so so miss it now.

    Hey I love all the 3 songs you have mentioned here except for Dil ne tumko 😦 So when is the second part coming up? I hope you will put up pics of my little heaven?? *sakshi begging with teddy bear eyes*

  8. July 5, 2010 2:56 am

    NH 7 has been recently given a facelift. So, they are great to drive on! Because of these roads, the travel time to Salem, Coimbatore, Chennai etc have been reduced.

    Looks like you had a great time! I was hoping to see more pictures of Yercaud. πŸ™‚

  9. July 5, 2010 3:16 am

    We often complain that people these days don’t have time for anything other than making money and spending it. But the blog world tells us a different tale. So many interesting stories from such a wide cross-section of people! You have used the lyrics of the songs nicely; they provide a silent background score to the text.

    Your story reminds me of our trip to Yercaud and Coimbatore from Bangalore a few years ago. The drive was thoroughly enjoyable, the roads were great even then. Yercaud is a lovely place, but the lake could have been better maintained, one felt. I hope it’s cleaner now. I’ll look forward to finding that out from your next post.

  10. July 5, 2010 12:46 pm

    A vacation with nothing to do but relax sounds like heaven, want to know if it really happened!!

  11. July 6, 2010 10:13 am

    you’re tagged πŸ™‚

  12. July 6, 2010 11:40 am

    Darshit proved that sometimes laziness and relaxation have their own merits πŸ™‚ I can say Yercaud has indeed become your second home from how frequently and fondly you people remember it.

  13. July 7, 2010 1:35 am

    Quite interesting.

  14. July 7, 2010 3:56 am

    Brilliant post.

    Loved it.

    We all need to relax once in a while.

    Take Care.

  15. July 7, 2010 5:32 am

    Its our fav place too…been there 4 or 5 times now and absolutely enjoy it every time. Pics are fab…driving thru is certainly a great experience…

    Waiting for ur Yercaud pics now…I want to see what more u clicked than me… πŸ˜‰

  16. July 8, 2010 12:58 pm

    Hey Whatever happened to Indulgence part – II; now that you are back in bangalore.

    Cheers!!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend-ulgence 2 «

Leave a Reply

