Skip to content

Engineering Marvel!

June 17, 2010

I stayed in a small village with my mother, 2 sisters and a brother, till one day, me and my brother were called for the service of the King.  When we went, my sisters cried but my mother did not.  Unaware of the fact that we were seeing our family for the last time, we (me and my brother) followed the orders and went for the service of the King.

It took us 11 days and 11 nights to cover the longest river (Nile). We were taken to Giza – myself, my brother and a lot many able bodied men.  When we reached Giza, we were amazed to see a huge structure of limestone in the midst of nothing but desert and thousands of workers looking like ants and working like ants!  This is when I got to know.. I was going to be one more ant in the lot.

We started work in the quarry. Our task was to take the huge block of limestone from Quarry next to pyramid base. 

 There were thousands and thousands of people and every single person was important. Each one knew what they had to do and how important their task was. 

Our task was to spill water over the base when stone blocks were moved from quarry to pyramid base. There were others who had to pull the sledge and there was one person who made sure that people were in sync while pulling.  So they used to keep shouting.. hu ha hu.. hu ha hu…hu ha hu..

There were experts in cutting stones, chisel them and mark them. And there were experts to sharpen equipments to chisel the stones. And there were experts who build those equipments. And there were experts who got the raw materials. And there were experts……… the chain went on. It was extremely well distributed work.

I was also a part of this chain though I was not an expert… till one day.. Me and my brother were called to place stones to build pyramids. We were moved out of Quarry.  We got more responsibility and needless to say more work.  Me and my brother grew closer day by day. We were each other’s family. But one day, we were working to place a huge block of limestone and it slipped. I lost my brother in that accident. That incident shook me!

I started thinking.. what was I doing? Following orders of a king who wants to remain immortal sacrificing lives of other mortals!  Days passed, months passed and I was now moved to even higher roles. I immersed deep in work. I was one of the most senior members in the team working for almost 10 years now.  I used to guide the placement, angles of stones on the pyramid. And finally came the day, when I had to place THE stone on the head of the pyramid. It was exhilarating! Our 16 years of hardwork and sacrifices paid off.

There stood a HUGE pyramid built by 200 millions stones in the midst of the largest desert! An immortal monument which was going to create history for all the coming generations!

My name, Nacht, was also going to become immortal.

And it was my honor to be able to see, touch this magnificent and larger than life monument. I felt I touched those millions of people who made it possible.  An exemplary piece of teamwork!

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 3:46 pm

    Awesome! moved by the story and narration. I am sure it is a dream for everyone who is aware of pyramids to visit atleast once in their life time. That shows how immortal each and every so called ‘ANT’ in the story…

    • Vineeta permalink*
      June 18, 2010 9:08 am

      You are right! I did not realize it till I visited and felt the aura of the place. It speaks volumes when you know the history!

  2. Nalini permalink
    June 18, 2010 7:58 am

    hey wow! thanks for sharing the story …very well written and i’m happy that you got a chance to visit Egypt.. 🙂

    • Vineeta permalink*
      June 18, 2010 9:09 am

      I know you.. you will start planning your trip there 😛

  3. June 18, 2010 4:58 pm

    ya vineeta very well written and interesting piece of info…cheers buddy

  4. June 19, 2010 3:10 am

    that was wonderful… thank you for sharing so uniquely

  5. June 19, 2010 5:26 am

    Amazing and touching narration. This is the best line ‘Following orders of a king who wants to remain immortal sacrificing lives of other mortals!’

    Best wishes. 🙂

    • Vineeta permalink*
      June 19, 2010 7:19 am

      You know there was a movie made by BBC on building pyramids and its an amazing watch 🙂

  6. June 19, 2010 5:33 am

    seeing this marvel is also my dream…
    i have always dreamt of seeing them live n touching them on my own…
    i really want to see the wonder which unbelievably was made by humans…
    i always wondered as to how can humans make such a thing…

    u have been lucky…hope i too get lucky soon enuf…lols…

    • Vineeta permalink*
      June 19, 2010 7:20 am

      hahaha.. dont worry u will.. I havent been lucky enough as I havent seen Taj Mahal :((

  7. June 19, 2010 7:32 am

    nice dessert place!

  8. July 6, 2010 1:19 am

    I somehow,still believe it was the aliens who built the pyramids! :mrgreen:
    No way human beings could have built it back then!Something’s really creepy abt the pyramids tht freak me out! 😯

Trackbacks

  1. Emergency in the History of India! «

Leave a Reply

