Skip to content

Run Run and … Run???

May 30, 2010

“What.. early morning on sunday… who will come?”

“Should I go, hmm.. I have paid 300 Rs for this.. dumbo!!”

These thoughts clouded my half slept brain on 10K Sunfeast event morning.

With the biggest (and the nosiest) yawn possible, I stretched myself on bed. Cribbed a little (shouldn’t say little), stared outside with the hope of seeing heavy thunderstorm and rain but despaired with the scene, slipped in the quilt again! After 15 minutes of slumberous thoughts, peeped out of quilt again and dragged my lazy body out of the bed. And……. I WAS LATE already! Started running.. unplanned warm up for the event. Still in the night wear, shook darshit up and told him “I am going”.  Typical “Me”.  He, without opening his eyes, said “Bye! All the best!” Typical “Him”. God! I was late.. I wanted him to drop me. I rushed to get ready. As per plan, darshit had to drop me to Auto Stand. But thanks to nonsensical thoughts in the morning.. he had to drop me till the start line!

And I was not the only dumbo this morning. There were 24,999 more along with me 😉 Frankly speaking, I was overwhelmed to see the aura of the event. Hordes and hordes of people everywhere, ranging from 3 feet to 6 feet and from 3 years to 60+ years. The energy and the exuberance in the air was contagious. Wow! I wanted to run. I darted in search of my friends. It was an uphill task searching for 2-3 people in this mad crowd. 10K runners had already started their sprint. I was fully geared up for my turn. Had somebody asked me that moment to run for 10K, I would have started hopping and running. Typical “Me” 😛

And here i was, waiting for the “Majja” run to start. Majja run was for 5.7Kms and was supposed to be for fun! I felt contended. I knew my limits (may be I did not). We waited for majja run to flag off and started running towards the route. I ran, ran and ran. Oh.. It was fun. Small children ran past me in their cute colorful dresses. There was fancily dressed crowd running, hopping and enjoying (and sometime itching) on the roads. Yes, it was quite sunny. I could have never imagined myself dressed in those animal fur attire. I kept on running and crossed 3km mark. So proud of achieving the first milestone, I started walking to catch breath and drink water which is available at each Km mark.  I could feel that my body was not so aligned with my thoughts. It was tired and wanted to sleep on this laze sunday morning. This is when i thought of my friend Brijesh who is the winner of last year’s ultra marathon. He once told me “when you run, try to keep your mind occupied with the surroundings. See the beauty in the nature around you”.  I immediately saw the tree next to me and the first thought that came was  “Go and sleep under it.” Oh God! NO! I was still walking, when a person on mike, cheering the runners , came very next to me and shouted “RUN”.  Fumbled for a second, I started running!

From the beginning, (now the beginning is just 1 week before the event), I decided that i will run in the event and not just walk as most of them do.  And strangely, on my way to finish line, my body was finally warmed up and I wanted to run and run more. But.. I reached the finish line! I was beaming with joy. And surprisingly, really charged up! I met my friends and shared my joy 🙂 I always wondered.. how can one run aimlessly? But now, I realized the excitement of finishing the run.

We walked back home. Yes.. we walked atleast 2 Kms back. I did not feel like stopping and therefore called my friends to home for lunch and prepared pasta. Realized later, may be i did not know my limits. And ofcourse, pasta tasted the yummiest that day 😛

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 4:20 am

    Even I can also vouch for that Pasta…the yummiest. Finally you have experienced the joy of crossing that finish line. Welcome to the runnerhood 🙂

  2. Sagar permalink
    June 1, 2010 5:23 am

    Wonderful description of the marathon run..Congrats!!

    • Vineeta permalink*
      June 4, 2010 3:06 pm

      Thanks Sagar! Hope to see u n Madhura in the next run 😛

  3. Gajan permalink
    June 1, 2010 3:24 pm

    The thought of sleep, looking at the tree was good ;),,,,,,even though your friend meant it for keeping one energised 🙂

    • Vineeta permalink*
      June 4, 2010 3:06 pm

      hahahaha.. cant help it Gajan! Thank God, I just thought and didnt actually sleep 😛

  4. prashanthmac permalink
    June 1, 2010 6:49 pm

    funny start .. I got a faint idea of what it takes to run a marathon — Hmm “Running a Marathon” – goes into my bucket list !!

  5. Rahul permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:42 am

    Frankly u need to get ur mind occupied in the surroundings…. The girls in the surrounding was what kept me gng… 😉

  6. Tarun permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:52 am

    Indeed, it was so much fun running the Majja Run…

    I am sure you slept under the tree 😉 for a while….

    Lets do the 10k next year.. what say ?

  7. June 4, 2010 12:48 am

    Congrats on finishing the majja run.. it must be full of majja for sure! aim for 10km mark next time… hopefully I will be lucky to take part in 10K runs 😉

    • Vineeta permalink
      June 7, 2010 6:11 am

      10K yeah.. sure sure!

    • Vineeta permalink*
      June 7, 2010 7:18 am

      Sure! 10K run is even more fun as it is timed and has celebrities also participating 🙂

  8. Satyendra permalink
    June 7, 2010 6:21 am

    You inspired me to run as well even i want to feel the excitement to touch the finish line .. and want to taste the pasta of my life 😉 after finishing the run 🙂

Leave a Reply

