Skip to content

Globalization Redefined!!!

March 25, 2010

Globalization is the buzzword of the century!  The world is converging.  And so is our lifestyle, work, culture, fashion and not to miss marriages 🙂

 The buzz of global marriages is the buzziest of all. It has indeed created a lot of stir in our elderly lot!! Global Marriages.. Caste Country No Bar!! Needless to say, what will be the product of our global marriages??!!

 Yes, Product?!!!! Interesting question, isn’t it?

 Obviously, It did not struck me till that one day.

 I was in Ahmedabad when I met this very cute 2 year old boy. Instantly I wanted to cuddle him and just blabber with him for hours together! Starting with loud, orotund words… I went on to cooing 🙂 Huh.. finally my consistent efforts paid off. He laughed! Ah! I do not remember me trying so much to talk to a boy 😀

 After some time, I was introduced to his parents. A living example of globalization. I realized very soon that “Khichadi” is the Hindi translation of “globalization”. Do you have doubts?? Read on…

 His Mother was a Guajarati, father a Tamilian who spoke Telgu with his parents. And the couple was settled in Hong Kong and had a full time Chinese maid who took care of this kid!!

 Product? You remember.. I was talking about product! I had really tough time making this global product talk! 😛

 I know.. like me, even you must be eager to know how they conversed with this little boy! Guess! Guess? See it is so simple. They conversed in English!

You know.. I am completely in favor of the kid though his parents complained to me that he speaks less. I mean.. even I was speechless after trying to link all the ingredients of this globalization!

 Does the phrase “What is your mother tongue?” still hold true? I have some serious funny doubts 😀

16 Comments leave one →
  1. dmanji permalink
    March 26, 2010 6:09 am

    You have got it spot on… I too have come across some such “products” of Globalization …. its really an interesting experience 😀
    Cheers
    Dhiman

    • Vineeta permalink*
      March 26, 2010 6:27 am

      Hey thanks Dhiman.. I thought none would be following my new blog address 🙂 U r rite.. its really interesting to see this transition phase of globalisation 😀

  2. March 26, 2010 6:22 am

    “Globalised” products soon will be a reality and frankly I see only English language will be the one for conversation.

    • Vineeta permalink*
      March 26, 2010 6:29 am

      Thank you Mr. Chowla for following the new blog too 🙂 Yeah.. you are rite.. but I guess it will be quite gradual. I guess once people understand that language is just a means to communicate your ideas/emotions.. they will be more liberally free 🙂

  3. March 26, 2010 8:58 am

    See, we have already started talking like a liberal capitalist – product of a marriage. Globalization has fully arrived.

    • Vineeta permalink*
      March 26, 2010 9:01 am

      hahahaha! I didnt realize that Brijesh! Good observations 😀

  4. Sudhi permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:15 am

    Looking at the topic and the first few sentences, I expected your protagonists to be Indo Chinese or Indo German! Tamilian and Gujju!!!! commonplace methinks!

    • Vineeta permalink*
      March 26, 2010 9:19 am

      Yeah.. u rite 🙂 I think I will not be able to decode cross country global marriages :)) This itself seemed quite complex.. from that kid’s angle 😀

      • Sudhi permalink
        March 26, 2010 1:04 pm

        I know a IndoChinese couple married – Iyengari style. The marriage was fun to attend! The Chinese lady in the Kanjeevaram was the best part!

        Met these guys in Germany (Bosch connection) sometime after the wedding, and they were as happy as a newly wed couple can be! Country (of origin or location) was really no bar!

        Now this couple is in BLR and doing great!

        Lets see how a kid changes things!

        • Vineeta permalink*
          March 28, 2010 2:54 am

          That must hv been really interesting to see 🙂 I wish I also get a chance.. may be will poke sm of my frnds to take such step 😀 Can then analyse better 😛

  5. Pradha permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:10 am

    I too was expecting something GLOBAL but you are right it is quite complex from kid’s angle.. I have seen a lot of similar married couples originally from different parts of India with different mother tongues, and the kids know and talk only English.. I do not think Mother tongue matters anymore in this globalised world!

    Your blogs are very lively and nice..I was a quite follower.but decided to give my comments from now on!!
    Cheers,
    Pradha

    • Vineeta permalink*
      March 26, 2010 10:16 am

      I am glad that you decided to comment.. it surely makes me happy 🙂 You know I have seen literally global couples but never had any chance to interact with their kids 🙂 I am sure it must be even worse 😀 btw.. I tried to navigate to your blog but could not.. do you own one?

  6. Boris permalink
    March 27, 2010 7:38 am

    I feel the most important thing is to see if the message/thougts are communicated rather than the language. Languages are created to ease this process and now with globalization it is this language which has become a barrier haha. Hence i feel one should not divide people on the basis of language,region, etc. and one should not look at inter-language marriages as funny/absurd and out of the world haha. That is our narrow-mindedness which needs a change i feel.

    Regarding the most commonly asked question- ‘what is your mother tongue?’- i dont know why this question has become soo very popular haha. I guess this is only to know what is the native language of a person; and it does not mean that the person answering the question should know his/her mother’s language lol; So, the question can always be asked without any doubts, i feel; since it surely has an answer, because mothers have a language always 🙂

    • Vineeta permalink*
      March 28, 2010 2:57 am

      You are absolutely right Boris.. Language is just a means to communicate! Thats all! I just wish all around us believe in that 🙂 You know.. it sometimes sounds very funny! 5 people with you and all talking in different languages with each other 😀 I never realized the seriousness of it untill I found this kid deciding not to speak at all!!!!

  7. March 28, 2010 2:03 pm

    world has no borders…v have nearly 200 nationalities in dubai…and i c a common link among all when it comes to emotions..btw…vinee..thanks a tonne for yr kind words ya…shows yr good heart..wishes to fmly..:)

Leave a Reply

